Home > Uncategorized > Goodbye Facebook, I Won’t Miss You

Goodbye Facebook, I Won’t Miss You

I was a semi-early adopter of Facebook. I arrived there ahead of many of my old high school classmates, friends, etc. It was exciting when many of those old classmates, co-workers, family members, etc. began to join Facebook. Unfortunately, for me, the excitement was short-lived.

Over time, I found the Facebook experience supremely unrewarding. Some of those Facebook "friends" did nothing but send drunken messages from the bar. Others sent constant messages about their children. Nice, to be sure, but a little like watching a slide show of the family vacation to Wally World. Maybe interesting to them, but not so interesting for me. Other "friends" invited me to join their "Mafia Wars" or to help them with their farm on "Farmville". I don't know about you, but I have enough real things I am behind on without putting out a mob hit on a fake gangster or fertilizing a fake crop of corn. Ironically, "Mafia Wars" and "Farmville" are pretty illustrative of my time on Facebook – killing time and wading through manure.

Don't get me wrong. It wasn't all bad. I enjoyed messages, especially those from family, and there were some cool pictures, etc. However, there wasn't anything on Facebook that a phone call, email, photo sharing site, or – God forbid – a letter couldn't do better any day of the week.

So, for all those "friends" I have left behind I apologize for not being able to string your rivals up with piano wire or feed your fake pigs. I have a real life to tend to with real people who will really break my legs if I don't pay attention to them. I don't have any crops to tend, but my wife likes it when I mow and trim the grass. Plus, there are some Dandelions in the flower beds that no amount of virtual gardening will remove.

So Facebook this is the end. I would say I'll miss you, but I won't. As for the "friends" I leave behind, email me, call me, or write me a letter. There's nothing like setting pen to paper to focus the mind. Plus the smell of ink and thrill of getting a letter never get old even after all these years.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

