Home > Uncategorized > For the Love of a Dog

For the Love of a Dog

Rocco

Yes, I am the king around here.

It always amazes me how a dog will worm their way into your heart. We got Rocco after our Shih-Tzu Herbie passed away after a series of off again on again illnesses. When we told Herbie’s groomer that he had passed away, she offered to let us have a puppy out of a recent litter of puppies for free. So, I went to her house to see what the puppies looked like. Here is what I found…

Rocco looking pitiful

Rocco on our first meeting

He looked just pitiful, but there was something about him that I fell in love with.

So, we brought him home. He looked a little shell-shocked.

What the *#$%?

Where the heck am I?

He was in constant motion.

Good luck snapping a photo of me!

Rocco didn't hold still long enough to take a picture of him

At least he was in constant motion until he wore himself out.

Rocco sleeps

Rocco sleeps

It wasn’t always easy. We were used to a very tranquil and somewhat sickly Herbie, and Rocco was a little ball of energy. At first my wife didn’t like him at all. I told her he would grow on her, but she was not convinced. She wanted me to take him back, but I convinced her to wait.

It’s a little bit difficult having a new puppy around with all the old reminders of the one that passed on:

Herbie with his bowl of food and water

Herbie with his bowl of food and water

Rocco eating out of Herbie's huge bowl

Rocco eating out of Herbie's huge bowl

The new puppy doesn’t take away the pain of the loss of an old friend, but somehow the new life and energy they bring helps you move past it.

Even as a puppy Rocco loved to chew on a ball

Even as a puppy Rocco loved to chew on a ball

Eventually Rocco moved past the cute puppy stage. You can really see the Jack Russell Terrier side of him (the other half is Cocker Spaniel). I was excited when he caught a Frisbee the first time.

Of course, my wife warmed up to Rocco eventually.

Rocco sleeping with my wife

Rocco sleeping with my wife

Each dog, it seems, has a personality of its own. Rocco is smart, playful and full of energy. Herbie was loving, a lap dog, and could have a mind of his own.

As Herbie got older, his hair thinned out. He had a thyroid problem, allergies, and began to have seizures. So, as sad as it was to lose him, at least he finally was at rest with no more pain.

Herbie rests

Herbie rests

We still miss Herbie, and I wonder what they would have done had Rocco and Herbie ever met. I suspect there would have been quite a bit of barking and growling involved.

Rocco has a big personality. As you can see, we like to take lots of pictures of him. He always lets you know he wants something by standing up on his hind legs.

Excuse me, do you have a moment?

Excuse me, do you have a moment?

It always seems Rocco finds the most inopportune moment to let me know he wants to eat, go outside or play. But, for whatever reason, I really can’t get upset at him. He just has a way of making you love him. Just ask my wife.

Rocco with his mommy

Rocco with his mommy

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

